What Christmas is as We Grow Older

Originally published in the 1851 Christmas edition of Dickens' journal Household Words, What Christmas is as We Grow Older is an essay suggesting that Christmas should be a time...

Devil's Breath

When the body of the glamorous film star Margot Browne washes ashore, Max's former colleague, Patrice Logan, requests his help. It's a perfect closed-circle murder: Margot must...

The First Victory The Second World War and the East Africa Campaign

Surprisingly neglected in accounts of Allied wartime triumphs, in 1941 British and Commonwealth forces completed a stunning and important victory in East Africa against an...

The Marching Dead

"Wry, absurdist, and pleasantly cynical, Battersby's [novel] will appeal to fans of Scott Lynch's The Lies of Locke Lamora and Terry Pratchett's Going Postal." -Publishers Weekly...

Wild Boy The Real Life of the Savage of Aveyron

One day, villagers from Lacaune, in the mountains of southern France, returned from the woods with a startling story. They'd glimpsed a naked boy digging in the leaves. A year...

The Alchemist of Souls

When Tudor explorers returned from the New World, they brought back a name out of half-forgotten Viking legend: skraylings. Red-sailed ships followed in the explorers' wake,...

The Wolf Age The Vikings, the Anglo-Saxons and the Battle for the North Sea Empire

The first major book on Vikings by a Scandinavian author to be published in English reframes the struggle for a North Sea empire and puts listeners in the mindset of Vikings,...

Ovid A Very Short Introduction

"Vivam" is the very last word of Ovid's masterpiece, the Metamorphoses: "I shall live." If we're still reading it two millennia after Ovid's death, this is by definition a...

Six Victories North Africa Malta and the Mediterranean Convoy War (November 1941-March 1942)

In October 1941, the British Admiralty based a surface strike force in Malta to attack Axis sea lanes between Italy and Africa. Aided by Ultra intelligence, submarines, and...

The Poor Relation's Story

Originally published in the 1852 Christmas edition of Dickens' journal Household Words, The Poor Relation's Story takes place during a Christmas feast, where a poor relation of...

page 1 from 8