Never Caught, The Story Of Ona Judge: George And Martha Washington's Courageous Slave Who Dared To Run Away

Try it Now Firm without compromise. Cancel whenever you want.


“A brilliant work of US history.” —School Library Journal (starred review)
“Gripping.” —BCCB (starred review)
“Accessible…Necessary.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

A National Book Award Finalist for Nonfiction, Never Caught is the eye-opening narrative of Ona Judge, George and Martha Washington’s runaway slave, who risked everything for a better life—now available as a young reader’s edition!

In this incredible narrative, Erica Armstrong Dunbar reveals a fascinating and heartbreaking behind-the-scenes look at the Washingtons when they were the First Family—and an in-depth look at their slave, Ona Judge, who dared to escape from one of the nation’s Founding Fathers.

Born into a life of slavery, Ona Judge eventually grew up to be George and Martha Washington’s “favored” dower slave. When she was told that she was going to be given as a wedding gift to Martha Washington’s granddaughter, Ona made the bold and brave decision to flee to the north, where she would be a fugitive.

From her childhood, to her time with the Washingtons and living in the slave quarters, to her escape to New Hampshire, Erica Armstrong Dunbar, along with Kathleen Van Cleve, shares an intimate glimpse into the life of a little-known, but powerful figure in history, and her brave journey as she fled the most powerful couple in the country.


  • 001 NeverCaught Title

    Duration: 22s
  • 002 NeverCaught Author'sNote

    Duration: 03min
  • 003 NeverCaught Timeline

    Duration: 04min
  • 004 NeverCaught Introduction

    Duration: 03min
  • 005 NeverCaught Ch1

    Duration: 11min
  • 006 NeverCaught Ch2

    Duration: 12min
  • 007 NeverCaught Ch3

    Duration: 15min
  • 008 NeverCaught Ch4

    Duration: 11min
  • 009 NeverCaught Ch5

    Duration: 16min
  • 010 NeverCaught Ch6

    Duration: 17min
  • 011 NeverCaught Ch7

    Duration: 08min
  • 012 NeverCaught Ch8

    Duration: 14min
  • 013 NeverCaught Ch9

    Duration: 11min
  • 014 NeverCaught Ch10

    Duration: 12min
  • 015 NeverCaught Ch11

    Duration: 10min
  • 016 NeverCaught Ch12

    Duration: 11min
  • 017 NeverCaught Ch13

    Duration: 11min
  • 018 NeverCaught Ch14

    Duration: 07min
  • 019 NeverCaught Ch15

    Duration: 06min
  • 020 NeverCaught Ch16

    Duration: 09min
page 1 from 2